Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2023 AAO House of Delegates Highlights for MSO vs 4.25.2023

- 1) Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha and Dr. Matt Larson along with their CCon (AAO Committee on Conferences and Meetings) team members worked diligently with the 12,003 in-person attendees and a total of 13,321 registrants to produce an energetic 2023 American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Annual Session in Chicago.
- 2) A special thanks to these Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) delegates for taking time away from the AAO Annual Session to represent MSO members at the AAO House of Delegates (HOD) held April 20 23: Drs. Nellie Kim-Weroha Chair; Emily Willett Vice Chair, Keri Barrow, Deborah Lien, Spencer Pope, Dennis Sommers, and Estee Wang, and alternates Mark Dake and Ali Fallgatter.
- **3) Dr. Mark Dake** served on Reference Committee 3. **Dr. Dennis Sommers** served on Reference Committee 2 and provided critical leadership updating and gaining a consensus on the AAO Clinical Practice Guidelines.
- **4)** MSO Trustee **Dr. Mike Durbin** was elected to serve as the AAO's 2024 2025 secretary-treasurer. **Dr. Lauren Pass** continues to serve on the AAO BOT as a Trustee -At-Large.
- 5) These MSO leaders were recognized during the second House of Delegates' session for the completion of their service over the last year on an AAO Council: Drs. Randall Markarian (COB), Jackie Miller (COC), Scott Arbit (COMJEC), and Steve Marshall (COSA).
- **6)** MSO Past President **Dr. John Kanyusik** of Minnesota was awarded with the prestigious 2023 AAO James E. Brophy AAO Distinguished Service Award.
- 7) MSO member and ABO President **Dr. Patrick Foley** concluded his service to the American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) at this meeting.
- **8)** The AAO House of Delegates approved the ABO nomination of **Dr. Meenakshi Vishwanath** to serve as the next ABO director from MSO.
- **9)** The AAO House of Delegates also approved keeping AAO dues the same amount for 2023 2024 and referred opportunities to increase membership value and reduce member costs for further leadership review.
- 10) Watch your mail late May for the registration brochure outlining details on MSO's first combined Annual Session with the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists (RMSO) October 13 14 at the Hilton near Mayo Clinic area in Rochester, Minnesota. Dr. Brian Jesperson of North Dakota will be receiving the MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at the MSO Annual Member Business Meeting to be held on October 14 in conjunction with the MSO/RMSO 2023 Annual Session.